Panel members

UN Secretary-General’s High-Level Panel on Women’s Economic Empowerment. Photo: UN Women/Ryan Brown.
Photo: UN Women/Ryan Brown

The UN Secretary-General’s High-Level Panel on Women’s Economic Empowerment is composed of influential leaders from various fields of government, business, academia, and civil society.

Co-chairs | Panel membersSecretariat


Co-chairs Deputies
H.E. Luis Guillermo Solis Rivera
President of Costa Rica
Ms. Alejandra Mora Mora
Minister for the Status of Women of Costa Rica
Ms. Simona Scarpaleggia
CEO, IKEA Switzerland
Mr. Aurel Hosennen
PR and Communications Manager, IKEA Switzerland

Panel members

Panel members Deputies
H.E. Sheikha Lubna bint Khalid bin Sultan Al Qasimi
Minister of State for Tolerance, United Arab Emirates
Ms. Amna Al Muhairy
Director of the Human Rights Department in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, United Arab Emirates
Mr. Amadou Mahtar Ba
Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, AllAfrica Global Media Inc.
Ms. Nanjira Sambuli
Digital Equality Advocacy Manager, World Wide Web Foundation
Ms. Mitchell Baker
Executive Chairwoman, Mozilla Foundation
Ms. Anar Simpson
Special Advisor, Office of the Chair, Women Girls and Technology at Mozilla
Ms. Sharan Burrow
General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)
Ms. Chidi King
Director of the Equality Department of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)
Ms. Winnie Byanyima
Executive Director, Oxfam International
Ms. Kim Henderson
Gender Justice Lead, Oxfam International
Ms. Fiza Farhan
Independent Development Advisor
Ms. Anum Suhail Bashir
Consult, Government of Punjab, Pakistan
Ms. Tina Fordham
Managing Director, Chief Global Political Analyst, Citi Research
Ms. Susan Monahan
Vice President, Media Relations, Citi
Ms. Alicia Girón
Professor and Researcher of the Economic Research Institute (IIEc)–UNAM
Ms. Fernanda Vidal Correa
Research Fellow, Panamerican University, Mexico City
Rt Hon. Justine Greening MP
Secretary of State for Education and Minister for Women and Equalities, United Kingdom
Ms. Gwen Hines
Director, International Relations, Department for International Development (DFID), United Kingdom
Ms. Renana Jhabvala
Chair, Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing and Organizing (WIEGO)
Ms. Martha Chen
International Coordinator, Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing and Organizing (WIEGO)
Mr. Jim Yong Kim
President, World Bank
Ms. Caren Grown
World Bank Group Senior Director, Gender
Ms. Christine Lagarde
Managing Director, International Monetary Fund
Ms. Daria Zakharova
Advisor, Strategy, Policy and Review Department, International Monetary Fund
Ms. Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka
United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women
Ms. Purna Sen
Director of Policy, UN Women
Mr. Guy Ryder
Director-General, International Labour Organization
Ms. Shauna Olney
Chief of the Gender, Equality and Diversity Branch, International Labour Organization
Mr. Michael Spence
Economist and recipient of the 2001 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences
H.E. Samia Suluhu Hassan
Vice-President, United Republic of Tanzania
Ms. Siriel Shaidi Mchembe
Specialist of Social Protection and Women’s Entrepreneurship Institute of Financial Management, United Republic of Tanzania
Ms. Elizabeth Vazquez
CEO and Co-Founder, WEConnect International
Ms. Greta Schettler
Vice President, WEConnect International
Ms. Saadia Zahidi
Head of Education, Employment and Gender Initiatives, World Economic Forum
Ms. Paulina Padilla
Specialist, World Economic Forum

Secretariat (now closed)

Ms. Marianne Olesen

Ms. Subhalakshmi Nandi
Policy Specialist

Mr. Adam Edward Simpson
Programme Advisor

Ms. Kutisha Ebron
Programme Analyst

Ms. Yvonne Usher
Administrative Associate

Former staff at the Secretariat

Ms. Verona Collantes-Lebale
Deputy Chief

Ms. Kelly Courtney
Advocacy Specialist

Ms. Patricia R. Francis

Ms. Riefqah Jappie
Policy Consultant

Ms. Florence Knop
Administrative Associate

Ms. Ali Matalon
Advocacy Support

Mr. Silvanus Okumu
Administrative Associate

Ms. Isabella Poeschl
Advocacy Coordinator

Ms. Teresita Reglos-Roque
Administrative Associate 

Ms. Sasha-Kay Roberts
Project Analyst

Ms. Margo Thomas

Ms. Leigh Tomppert
Policy Advisor