Group of Champions

The Group of Champions for Women’s Economic Empowerment was established to ensure that the work of the High-Level Panel is taken forward through the implementation of the 2030 Agenda, and to champion women’s economic empowerment in their countries, as well as regionally and globally.

The Champions, representing governments from different regions, currently are: Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Finland, Jamaica, Japan, Lithuania, Mexico, Norway, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and Zambia. This Group is co-chaired by Costa Rica (the President was also co-Chair of the HLP) and United Kingdom (the donor that supported the HLP initiative).

See the concept paper for more information about the vision and goals of the Group of Champions.